The Marianists have lived and ministered at Mount St. John since 1910. The 150-acre property is named for St. John the Apostle, patron of the Society of Mary. MSJ is home to residential communities of Marianist Brothers and Priests at Meyer Hall and the Marianist Novitiate, the North American Center for Marianist Studies, the Marianist Mission, the Bergamo Center for Lifelong Learning, Gallery St. John, Queen of Apostles parish and the Marianist Environmental Education Center (MEEC). The buildings and grounds that are not part of the 100-acre preserve in MEEC's care are expertly maintained by Mount St. John Facilities.
The US Province of the Society of Mary (Brothers and Priests) strives to ensure that Marianist spirit, ideals and heritage are embodied and promoted by the ministries of Mount St. John. Specifically, we seek to:
- Form people in faith through proclamation of the Gospel, enrichment of culture, and the transformation of society that reflects the fullness of Christ’s message;
- Promote prayer and contemplation in the midst of an action-oriented culture;
- Provide a unique point of intersection between church and culture, between business and religion, and between the Marianist Family and the wider Church;
- Model collaborative processes among persons with different expressions of faith and spirituality;
- Develop and care for the land in ways that clearly reflect the integrity of creation and the sacred heritage and current purpose, which is to experience God through nature and to complement the ministries of the property.